Useful and Beautiful

Yesterday I was trying to explain – I say trying, I always try, things often make more sense in my head than they do when I say them out loud…

I’ll start again. Yesterday I was explaining the content strategy for a website we’re building. We want the site to be different from anything the brand has ever had online before. We want it to be completely great and right in terms of its look and feel, but we are focused on ensuring that every bit of content has a business/comms rationale behind it.

I was trying to explain why we couldn’t just stick pictures or films or articles up on the site. Why it had to have a purpose, and fit the strategy. Why the online strategy should provide direction for the creation of content…

This morning I was in the shower and I recalled the William Morris quote “Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful”…

Every piece of content in any site should be beautiful and useful. We are not artists or librarians. Everything meets an audience, business or communications objective – but it does it effortlessly, because it is well-designed, engaging, creative.

I can’t wait for the site to go live!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Useful and Beautiful

  1. Pingback: What William Morris teaches us about creativity | Think bubbles

  2. Pingback: Can strategists learn from bad architecture? | Think bubbles

Leave a Reply

